In addition to the IEEE Corporate Awards for service, the Northern Virginia section confers several local honors. The Volunteer of the Year recognizes superior contributions for the past year, while Distinguished Service Awards are given for sustained contributions over three to five years. The James F. Strother Meritorious Service Award is our most prestigious accolade. Named after a past section member who received both the George F. McClure Citation of Honor (1993) and Robert S. Walleigh Distinguished Contributions to Engineering Professionalism Award from IEEE-USA, it is given to a volunteer with distinguished service to local membership spanning more than five years.

The following partial list of past recipients lists the year in which the award was given, recognizing service for one or more prior years. If you know of any missing names, please contact

2019James F. Strother Meritorious Service AwardMarc Apter
2019Distinguished Service AwardNadim Haddad
2019Distinguished Service AwardManori Nadesalingam
2019Distinguished Service AwardKafi Hassan
2019Distinguished Service AwardMurty Polavarapu
2019Distinguished Service AwardMartin Schulman
2019Volunteer of the YearChandra Curtis
2019Joint Section Distinguished Service AwardDouglas Holly
2018James F. Strother Meritorious Service AwardJerry Gibbon
2018Distinguished Service AwardJames Magee
2018Volunteer of the YearPamela Abshire
2017James F. Strother Meritorious Service AwardEmily Sopensky
2017Distinguished Service AwardDan Cross-Cole
2017Volunteer of the YearBarry Douglass
2016Distinguished Service AwardDan Cross-Cole
2016Distinguished Service AwardBarry Douglass
2016Distinguished Service AwardMartin Schulman
2016Distinguished Service AwardMonica Taysing-Lara