Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

IEEE Cincinnati August Executive Committee (NOT regular section meeting)

August 17, 2016 @ 21:45 - August 18, 2016 @ 00:30

== August Executive Committee Planning Meeting. This is a planning meeting for the IEEE Cincinnati Executive Committee ==

Our next regular section meeting will be held TBD.

Volunteers are always welcome. If you are interested in joining the IEEE Cincinnati executive committee, please send an email to the officers listed on the IEEE Cincinnati website.

Minutes of the meeting:

The meeting was called to order at 7.03pm by the Chair, Stephen Fridrick. Members present:
Stephen Fridrick, Chair
Steve Olenick, Vice Chair
Marwan Nusair, Secretary
Ralph Campbell, Member-at-Large
Dr. Chi-Hao Cheng, Miami University Student Chapter Advisor
Marc Bell, Newsletter Editor
Mark McCloy, Power Section Chapter Chair

The reading of the Secretary’s Report of the minutes of the Executive Committee meeting of 16 March 2016 was deferred to a later date. The minutes will be emailed after the meeting and the Committee will vote on them at the next meeting.

The Treasurer’s Report was read by Steve Fridricks on behalf of Fred Nadeau. The balance of the checking account was $32,596.82 as of 30 July 2016, and the balance of the Investment Fund account was $49,554.55 as of 30 June 2016. A rebate of $5,256.55 was received from IEEE.

Old business:
Scholarship: due to a website problem, the deadline has now been extended to September 1. One application was received on August 16th. It was agreed that the notices should be sent out at the beginning of next year in order to avoid last-minute problems, and that we would contact the various branches of the Universities to make sure they are aware of the scholarships and communicate to their students.

We received a thank-you note for the Lego Mindstorms from the Boy Scouts.

The election procedure and deadlines are as follows:
31 August – Appointment of Nominating Committee.
30 September – Announcement of Nominations.
30 September – Call for petition candidates.
31 October – Deadline for petitions to be submitted.
31 October – Tellers Committee appointed.
15 November – Ballots mailed
15 December – Deadline for ballots to be returned.
20 December – Deadline for election results to be announced.

The nominating committee was appointed by the Chair and consists of McCloy (Chair), Bob Morrison and Ralph Campbell.

Ralph Campbell reported on the Region 2 West area meeting attended by him and Kassiani Kotsidou. The use of vtools was the main topic of the meeting.

Upcoming meetings were discussed.
Month Topic Action Person (s)
September 22, 2016 LEED electrical design criteria, presenter Ryan Hoffman, from Heapy Engineering Stephen Fridrick
October 27, 2016 Tentative: Meeting at UC
December 1, 2016 Tentative: Hybrids and electric cars (Marwan Nusair will contact Mike Valentine to see if interested)
January 26, 2017 Tentative: Smart meters (Marc Bell will find out)
February 23, 2017 Tentative: Cyber security (Ralph Campbell will look into it)
March 23, 2017 Tentative: Tour of Cincinnati street car
April 27, 2017 UC (3 of 5) and MU (2) senior project presentations Dr. Frank Zhou, Dr. Chi-Hao Cheng
May 25, 2017 Tentative: IoT (Chi Hao Cheng reports that Miami U has 2 professors that may talk about this)

There was a discussion of the IEEE election and the proposed change to the by-laws.

The Chapter IEEE Collabratec group is not active.

Marc Bell moved and Ralph Campbell seconded that the meeting adjourn at 8.08pm.

Respectfully submitted,
Marwan Nusair, Secretary.



Social Time: 5:30 – 6:00   Dinner: 6:00 – 7:00    Meeting: 7:00 – ~8:00

Bldg: Slatt’s Pub Suite
4858 Cooper Road
Blue Ash, Ohio


[email protected]