Student Leadership Scholarship

The Philadelphia Section is one of the Delaware Valley’s largest supporters of outstanding college students.  To be selected as Section awardee, applicants must be leaders in both their academics, as well as community.  Awardees are granted $6,000 scholarships to be utilized for academic or professional endeavors.

IEEE Student Branch Leadership Scholarship

 On June 12, 2018 the Administrative Committee of the IEEE Philadelphia Section approved the recommendations of the Scholarship Selection Committee to grant three IEEE Student-Branch Leadership Scholarships of the Philadelphia Section, in honor of Merrill W. Buckley, Jr., for the upcoming 2018-19 academic year.

Congratulations to the recipients of these three $6,000 scholarships: 

Ms. Zizi Elgamal, Drexel University
Mr. Jason Logan Fisch, Rowan University
Mr. Bradley Joseph MacDonald, Temple University

We applaud their dedication to the goals of the IEEE, and wish them continued success in conveying the benefits of the IEEE affiliation to their respective communities.

The IEEE Student-Branch Leadership Scholarship Program of the Philadelphia Section, in honor of Merrill W. Buckley, Jr. ( ),  recognizes IEEE Student Members, affiliated with IEEE Student Branches in the Philadelphia Section, who have made significant contributions to the development, operation, outreach, and/or continuing vitality of their respective Student Branches.  This scholarship is awarded for excellence in Student-Branch (or Student-Branch Chapter or Affiliation Group) leadership in the promotion of technical, professional, educational, and personal development of its student members in IEEE-related fields of interest. 


Barney Adler
Chair, Student Activities
IEEE Philadelphia Section

IEEE SBLS – Program Description 2017-18

IEEE SBLS – Application Form 2017-18

2014 Award Winners

Please join us in celebrating the achievements of our previous awardees.  Each of these students has excelled in their schools and been a force for change in the community.

  • Ms. Christen Corrado, Rowan University
  • Mr. Jeffrey Eker, Rowan University
  • Ms. Savannah Marie Lee, Drexel University