Congratulations to our Annual Awards Winners!

The Awards Banquet was held Thursday, November 17 at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia – King of Prussia where we recognized those honored by the section for their contributions to the industry.

And the WINNERS are:


Philadelphia Section Member 2 Recipients

Joseph Picone, PhD, Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Temple University

Kate M McDevitt, IEEE Philadelphia Membership Chair, Women in Engineering Team Leader


Benjamin Franklin Key Award 2 Recipients

Ravikumar Pragada, Senior Director and Sr. Principal Engineer at InterDigital

Michael Nispel, Senior Principal Engineer for Energy Storage with Comcast Cable’s Critical Infrastructure group


Corporate Technology Innovation Award 2 Recipients

Channel Logistics, LLC DBA Space-Eyes, LLC

Exyn Technologies, Inc.


Delaware Valley Young Electrical Engineer of the Year Award 2 Recipients

Xun Jiao, Assistant Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Villanova University
Vidya Ganapati, Assistant Professor of Engineering, Swarthmore College


Delaware Valley Engineer of the Year Award

Brandon S. Swartley, Vice President and Technical Director, STV Incorporated


Merrill Buckley Jr. Student Project Award 2 Recipients

FPGA Implementation of Lightweight Binary Ring-LWE Post-Quantum Cryptography – Recipient Jiafeng Xie

AI-RISC for efficient processing of edge AI workloads – Recipient Vaibhav Verma


Thank you to our sponsor! 




The IEEE in collaboration with PGW, Temple University, Burns Engineering and United Laboratories (UL) are hosting a Philadelphia Academic Microgrid Design Competition. Teams of 3 to 5 students each will compete in designing simulated microgrid controllers. The microgrid designs will be evaluated based on technical performance by a panel of judges. Winning teams will receive up to $700 in awards to be selected through the two-round process described below, culminating in a live competition on Friday, February 24th, 2023. Click HERE for more information!

Registration Deadline: January 20th, 2023

Applications Can be found HERE.

Competition Kick Off: January 25th, 2023

  • Teams will be provided instructions, software access, and evaluation criteria.
  • Teams will have 21 days from January 25th, 2023 to February 15th, 2023 to develop their Microgrid designs.
  • Teams will be judged and awardees will be announced at the Innovation Conference on February 24th, 2023

Teams will receive free admission to the conference. This will be an excellent time for teams to network and share their designs with industry professionals.

ROWAN UNIVERSITY Multiple Employment Opportunities!


With a dramatic increase in enrollment and a rapidly growing new Ph.D. program, the

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) of the Henry M. Rowan College of Engineering at Rowan University invites applicants for tenured, tenure-track as well as non-tenure-track positions at all ranks. There are three separate lines, each with a different application link, as provided below. Additional information on all of the following positions can also be found on our 2022-23 Faculty Search Webpage.

Check out ALL employment announcements HERE!

Delaware Valley Science Fair Mentors needed – 2023

DVSF Mentors Are Here to Help All Year Round Mentorship–a FREE resource to help students living in southeastern  Pennsylvania, southern New Jersey, and Delaware in Grades 6-12 with questions that arise in their independent science research project  (aka Science Fair).


Visit for more information about our mentorship program.


If you want to volunteer to be a mentor, sign up at


DVSF 2023 will be April 4 – April 6

Setup: April 4

Judging: April 5

Awards Ceremony: April 6

Expo Center at Oaks, PA