Section News

IEEE Philadelphia Section Annual Officer’s Election – It’s Time to Vote!

Voting is now open for the Philadelphia Section 2019 Officer’s Election!

To ensure that your voting rights are protected and that you are confident that your vote is accurately cast and tabulated, we utilize the vTools.Voting system for our elections. Cast your vote today.

Read candidate biographies and position statements HERE.

Cast your vote HERE.

Congratulations to our Annual Awards Winners!

The Awards Banquet & Gala was held Saturday, April 13 at The Union League of Philadelphia where we recognized those honored by the section for their contributions to the industry. Thanks to Jim Thompson and Brittney Burchett of Unisys for their presentation Innovation: Beyond the Buzzword. 

And the WINNERS are:

Past Chair Award
Peter M. Silverberg, P.E.

Chapter of the Year 2 Recipients
Signal Processing, Broadcast Technology, Consumer Electronics Societies (SP/BP/CE); Recipient; Michael Mayor, MSE, P.E.
Computer Society: Chapter Recipients, Co-Chairs, Emilio Salgueiro and Dr. Li Bai

Philadelphia Section Member 2 Recipients
Michael Mayor, MSE, P.E.
Marvin Weilerstein

Recognition of New Fellows
Yimin D. Zhang, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, College of Engineering at Temple University

Category: Benjamin Franklin Key Award 2 Recipients
Wilbur Lew – Lockheed Martin
Steve Poserina – Channel Logistics

Corporate Technology Innovation Award
AGI Commercial Space Operations Center (ComSpOC); Accepting Award: Bob Hall, Director of Operations for ComSpOC

Delaware Valley Young Electrical Engineer of the Year Award 2 Recipients
Joseph Spada – Lockheed Martin
Sunny Wong, Ph.D. – Analytical Graphics, Inc. Lead Software Architect

Delaware Valley Engineer of the Year
Thomas Santarelli, CHI Systems

Merrill Buckley Jr. Student Project Award
Wearable Electronics – Recipient: Alexandra Hagger, Rowan University

Thank you to our sponsors! 


IEEE Philadelphia Section Congratulates our Newest Senior Members

January 2019:  Cheer-Sun Yang, Wei Xue, Qing Wang, Fu-Chiang Tsui, Wan Shih, Ioannis Savidis, Joseph Palko, William Mongan, Kevin Maynard, Kiran Mani, Mark Madjar, Dave Johnson, Nicholas Ipri, Dominic Imbrenda, David Hollingsworth, Martin Hofmann, Lev Givon, Jeffrey Gingerich, Liang Du, Anup Das, Suhas Bhandare, David Bartlett, Hasan Ayaz.

IEEE Philadelphia Section Receives an Award


2018 Membership Recruitment and Retention Performance 
Membership Development goals are created for each Section for both recruitment and retention. Each Section has a unique goal based on different dynamics – whether the Section has had growth or decline, as well as the overall size and location of the Section.

Awards Summary





Events Calendar

« January 2020 » loading...

Upcoming Events

Tue 21

IEEE Section Night

January 21 @ 6:00 pm - 9:00 pm EST
Thu 23

Philadelphia International Airport Tour

January 23 @ 6:30 pm - 8:00 pm EST
Feb 11

Administrative Committee Meeting

February 11 @ 6:00 pm - 9:00 pm EST


Welcome to the IEEE Philadelphia Section

The Philadelphia Section (or Branch as it was then called) of the American Institute of Electrical Engineers, or AIEE for short, was organized in 1903. As the electric power industry grew so did the AIEE. However, on May 13, 1912, another branch of the electrical profession, the radio engineers, formed the Institute of Radio Engineers (IRE), which grew so rapidly its membership soon surpassed that of the AIEE. As early as 1922, the AIEE and IRE discussed the possibility of merging, as the interests of the societies overlapped. No serious steps were taken until 1961. One year later, the membership of the organizations approved the merger, which officially took place on January 1, 1963, under the new name of The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc. (IEEE).

Today the IEEE Philadelphia Section serves more than 4,000 members in the Delaware Valley including Bucks, Chester, Delaware,Montgomery, and Philadelphia counties in Pennsylvania and Burlington, Camden, and Gloucester counties in New Jersey. The Philadelphia Section holds regular meetings (third Tuesday except December, June, July, and August) and events, publishes a member newsletter, the Almanack, ten times per year; presents an annual awards banquet & gala, and offers a leadership scholarship through its student branch. The section currently has 22 chapters and four affinity groups. Many volunteer opportunities exist. For more information call 484.270.5136.

Featured Sponsors


IEEE Philadelphia Section c/o Greater Philadelphia Management Association Group. 111 Presidential Blvd., Suite 231, Bala Cynwyd, PA 19004, Tel: 484-270-5136; email: -- Website:

Call for Advertisements

The Philadelphia Section of the IEEE encourages placement of technical, professional and commercial advertisement and Sponsorship in the Almanack, Web site, Annual Awards Banquet and Program Book and the Meeting Announcement emails.

The Almanack is published ten times a year and is read by more than 4,000 members with an average annual salary of over $70,000 in over 150 key industries.

The Awards Banquet of the IEEE Philadelphia Section is an annual event to recognize those who have been honored for their contributions by both the Institute and the Section and by organizations whose mutual interests are associated with the IEEE.

Meeting Announcements (reaches 4,000 + recipients averaging 4-6 emails each month)
For more information, contact Michael Mayor at 484.524.3264 or